Sunset

Standard

 

sunset2

I thought I knew the limit of beauty,
until my eyes was set on thee

I thought I knew grace,
until I looked upon thy face

Such magnificence that I now know.
Such majesty, is what I see, now glow.

Orange red hues spreads along the horizon,
that I cannot help but keep my eyes on.

Though it blinds me, the essence of its glow,
I feel the need to know.

Framed by a mountain, the sky and the open sea,
this is where my heart clearly wants to be.

Across the open ocean blue,
nothing I’ve seen compares to you.

Water shimmers in your brilliance,
as you struggle and show resilience.

In the end you give way to night
but not without a fight.

 

 

J M Lysun

6 thoughts on “Sunset

  1. I reread your beautiful poem again and this time it struck me even more. I love your line: “nothing I’ve seen compares to you.” It, of course, reminded me of Annie Lennox’ Nothing compares to you. Yet, the romantic context you write it in is so much your own. Own it!

Leave a Reply

